Finalists for the Eutelsat TV Awards 2014

Paris, 1 October 2014 – With the last year marked by record television audiences for key sporting events, and social media driving viewers to TV channels for news, music, fiction, education, culture and documentaries, the role of television at the heart of the digital industry has never been stronger.

The enduring and evolving relationship of television channels with their audiences was the object of analysis of the jury of The Eutelsat TV awards that met in Paris from 26 to 27 September. The cross-industry jury, chaired by Duilio Giammaria, the award-winning RAI journalist, assessed the quality, innovation and creativity of over 100 channels from 20 countries, including channels from Latin America for the first time
this year.

Now in its 17th year, the Eutelsat TV Awards is a unique international event identifying and rewarding excellence in satellite broadcasting. The winning channels in nine thematic categories will be honoured at a ceremony in Rome on November 28 presented by UK television journalist, Kate Silverton.

All participating channels in the Eutelsat TV Awards can now compete for the People’s Choice Award that will be won by the channel generating most votes by the viewing public. Voting opens on October 1 until October 31 via channel websites as well as and other popular sites including and

Here the nominees 2014!

Voting is also possible for the first time this year through EutelsatAward, the official iOS App available in the Apple store. EutelsatAward will allow you to check all the entries, watch channel videos and browse photos and videos from past editions.

The jury: Jerzy Barski from TV-Sat Magazine (Poland), Jacques Braun from Eurodata TV (France), Robert Briel from Broadband TV News, Sergey Buntman from Echo of Moscow (Russia), Alessandra Comazzi from La Stampa (Italy), Paolo Dalla Chiara from Pentastudio (Italy), Christian Blankenberg from ARD (Germany), Giacomo Mazzone from the EBU, Fusun Nebil from Turk Internet (Turkey), Reem Nouss Media Consultant (UK). Jury chairman: Duilio Giammaria from Rai (Italy). Technical expert: Mauro Roffi from Millecanali (Italy).

For further information:
Vanessa O’Connor Tel: + 33 1 53 98 37 91
Frédérique Gautier Tel: + 33 1 53 98 37 91
Marie-Sophie Ecuer Tel: + 33 1 53 98 37 91
Investors and analysts
Joanna Darlington Tel: +33 1 53 98 35 30
Cédric Pugni Tel: +33 1 53 98 35 30

Download PDF

Sponsors and partners: Airbus, ThalesAlenia Space, DBW, Broadband TV News, Millecanali, PRODU